Where do I file for Bankruptcy in California?

15 Oct Where do I file for Bankruptcy in California?

Bankruptcy is a federal program, administered by the Federal Court system. Thus the state courts don’t get involved at all.

Nonetheless, the Federal system of courts is based on your State and County. If you live in California, you will file bankruptcy in a Federal District court located in that State. The Districts are divided by county, as can be seen in this map.

There are four Districts in California in the Federal system. They are the Northern District, the Eastern District, the Central District and the Southern District. The Northern District covers the San Francisco Bay area as far south as Monterey County and extends north along the coast to the Oregon border. The Eastern District covers the great California valley from the Oregon border to Bakersfield, and east to the Nevada border. The Central district covers Los Angeles and Orange County as fell as Riverside and everything in between. It extends north to San Luis Obispo County. And the Southern District covers the San Diego area along the Mexican border.

Within each District there are divisions as well, so that someone in Bakersfield doesn’t have to file in Sacramento.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
The following two tabs change content below.
Douglas Jacobs is a California bankruptcy attorney and partner in the Chico law firm of Jacobs, Anderson, Potter & Chaplin. Since 1988, Mr. Jacobs has taught Constitutional law and Debtor-Creditor/Bankruptcy law at the Cal Northern School of Law. He has served as Dean of Students since 1994. He is a frequent lecturer on the subject of consumer bankruptcy law, and has spoken at both state and national levels.
No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.