Garnishments in Missouri (Part One)

21 Apr Garnishments in Missouri (Part One)

Missouri statutes set a general maximum amount that can be garnished from a judgment debtor’s paycheck.  Overall, Missouri’s response to garnishment parallels to some extent the limits set by federal statute under 15 U.S.C. §1673.  It’s typically the lesser of (1) 25% of post-deduction income, (2) 10% of post-deduction income if head of a family, or (3) if the debtor is paid weekly, the excess over 30 times the federal minimum wage (currently the excess over $154.50/week).    There is an adjustment if the debtor is paid according to a schedule other than weekly.  If a debtor is paid less frequently, the amount the paycheck exceeds an amount based on the formula (30) x (Federal Minimum Wage).  In the formula, x represents 2 1/6 weeks if the debtor is paid semi-monthly or 4 1/3 weeks if the debtor is paid monthly. 

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
The following two tabs change content below.
No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.