09 Oct Car Repossession Procedures in Massachusetts
In Massachusetts if you fall behind in your car payments, your car lender can not just take your car. However, after you are 30 days past due a lender can decide to repossess your car (this can also happen if you fail to keep your car insured). A lender must send you a notice called the “Rights of Defaulting Buyer under the Massachusetts Motor Vehicle Installment Sales Act” giving you 21 days to cure the default. If you do not cure the default and the lender takes your car, you must be given a second notice stating the creditor’s intention to sell the car and giving you an additional 20 days to redeem it.
You can visit my web site for more information about car repossession in Massachusetts.
Nicholas Ortiz, Boston Bankruptcy Attorney
Latest posts by Nicholas Ortiz, Boston Bankruptcy Attorney (see all)
- Bankruptcy and Arrest Warrants - August 23, 2013
- Massachusetts Mortgage 150-Day Right to Cure and Bankruptcy - July 23, 2013
- Unauthorized Practice of Law Gains Attention of U.S. Trustee - June 23, 2013
- What is a Prepackaged Chapter 11 Bankruptcy? - May 23, 2013
- Marital Adjustment Allowed to Set Commitment Period - April 25, 2013